Mad Edition: Love letters from Taja Will

 

Read My Lips

‘I love the fabulous facades and vulnerable inner longings that coexist in this space.’ Theresa Madaus

I, Taja Will, love the fabulous facades and vulnerable inner longings that coexisted in this work.  

Here are my love letters to Read My / Lips Don’t Lie : Real / Fake till you make, accompanied by a Bee Gees mashup soundtrack.

 

I want to write this dance a middle school note because I was so infatuated with it.

Do you want to come over to my house after school?

We could make up dance moves to Spice Girls, or

Act out the new music videos on MTV.

I have pop and my mom will get us chips.

 

‘I know your eyes in the morning sun

I feel you touch me in the pouring rain

And the moment that you wander far from me

I wanna feel you in my arms again’

How Deep is your Love – 1977

 

I want to write this dance a high school note and pass it to you when the teacher isn’t looking.

 

Want to hang out after school ? Yes / No

I think you’re hot,

Lets make out.

 

And that sweet city woman, she moves through the light

Controlling my mind and my soul

When you reach out for me yeah, and the feeling is bright

 

Then I get night fever, night fever, we know how to do it

Gimme that night fever, night fever, we know how to show it.

Night Fever – 1977

 

I want to write a heartfelt ode to this dance.

 

Thank you for being the piece of art I saw on June 12th, 2016.

Thank you for being exactly what my queer, Latina eyes needed to see.

Thank you for making my cheeks hurt, I wasn’t planning on smiling that day.

 

When the feeling’s gone and you can’t go on

It’s tragedy

When the morning cries and you don’t know why

It’s hard to bear

With no one to love you

You’re goin’ nowhere

Tragedy

Tragedy – 1979

 

I don’t want to write serious critique.

I saw your research, your easy virtuosity and your sexiness.

 

You should be dancing, yeah

Dancing, yeah

 

You should be dancing, yeah

Dancing, yeah

 

You should be dancing, yeah

Dancing, yeah

You Should be Dancing – 1976

 

Thank you.

 

Love,

Me

 

Leave a Reply

