Hijack’s Guerrilla Gay Bar by Theresa Madaus

Hijack is glitter. Hijack in gold. Hijack in glitz to match the glitzy music. Glitzy here being another name for pop, for bling, for mass appeal, for radio edit hip hop. Wrapped up in too many belts.

Hijack is glitter. Hijack in short, intricate, precise gestural movements. Hijack in giant fake eyelashes. We call those falsies. Hijack in conflict. Hijack in dance battle. Hijack in response. To everything. Hijack in post-modern vogue.

Hijack is perfectly understandable, but completely opaque. Hijack cannot be articulated, only loved. But they are too smart for blind love. I have to have a reason to love them.

This is what I cannot articulate. So satisfying, accessible, mystifying, sharp commentary that does not translate into easy punk button slogans. It does not boil down, even when condensed to a 5 minute dance.

Hijack speaks dance. I do not know how to translate it into English without being clunky, dumb, losing not only the poeticism and nuance, but even the very meaning, the grammar of it is lost. Dance logic is not narrative logic is not writing logic is not logic is itself.

This has become a love letter to Hijack and an appeal to the difficulty of dance writing. What more can I say about this piece?

I remember the costumes more from pictures of the piece than from the piece itself. The eyelashes I remember vividly. In real life. With jealousy. I remember the rightness of Hijack performing at Bedlam Lowertown’s opening. It was imperative. I remember the music cutting out; I remember feeling like it was a mistake, a malfunction, as only Bedlam can malfunction (continually, lovingly, with abandon and no ill consequence.) I remember seeing it was not a mistake. Not realizing it was not a mistake, but seeing it was not a mistake in the dance. The abrupt stops, the excess, the very fact of hip hop pop requires itself to cut out. I remember Arwen and Kristin trading off, dancing around and at each other. I remember the title. Guerrilla Gay Bar. I remember how much I love this title. I remember how Hijack’s titles are like their dances: illuminating and confusing all at once.

 

Hijack, Guerrilla Gay Bar

Bedlam Lowertown Grand Opening

May 30, 2014

Leave a Reply

