Fire Drill’s Time Had a Job, by Megan Mayer

Fire Drill’s Time Had a Job, by Megan Mayer

I enjoyed myself immensely while watching this, these rapid-fire, smartly varied jump cuts of mere seconds, for 15 minutes straight. I wanted more.

I felt like my brain was too overloaded, intentionally, to be able to write full sentences about this. I compromised by scribbling a list of references without looking down at my notebook because I didn’t want to miss one second. I know they were curious about testing audience’s attention spans which interested me.

These things popped into my brain during the piece:

  • the film Rear Window
  • Dr. Seuss costumes
  • facial expressions and how they alter the body’s impact
  • the concept and intention of movie montages
  • Let’s Paint, Exercise & Blend Drinks
  • Bill O’Reilly’s raging rant of  “We’ll do it live!”
  • Coles & Atkins
  • That it’s lovely to laugh
  • going for jokes vs. sincere, stillness vs. action and the criss-crossing of both attempts
  • Moonlight Bowling in black light

I noticed the white checks of their costumes trailing off in dark when the lights went off. It was distracting at first, but then I began to anticipate it and enjoyed watching them scurry to their next location in the semi-dark. It was AMAZING when they ran offstage to either side of the stage, Emily out the front lobby door and Billy to the booth, and they way they ran back to their spots just in time and both managed to somehow look completely composed, their bodies calm and settled, before the lights bumped back on, was so successful. I felt like I had been in on a joke and we were all waiting to see if they were going to make it or not. They told this joke very well. I think I may have said “Well done” out loud in my seat.

As the piece progressed, I found the absence of action to be more successful than the various clever scenes they’d crafted. Maybe this speaks more to how the brain fills up when presented with so many images so rapidly. I wanted more pauses than movement. I also wanted them to be closer together when pausing rather than separate from each other; I wanted the pictures to  develop in a more emotionally intimate or private way. I hope I get to see this piece again and am grateful for the ways it made me consider endurance as a construct.

Fire Drill

Time Had a Job

Works in Progress/New Works 4 Weeks

Red Eye Theater

May 29-June 1, 2014

Leave a Reply

